Skip to content


Game Wardens Will Be Checking Hunting Licenses

Conservation Officers will be stepping up license checks as the 2007-08 hunting season prepares to move into full swing, according to the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks. Dove, teal and early Canada goose season are currently open and the state‚s first deer season opens October 1 for archery hunters. In just a few weeks, small game season will open across the state.
“Our officers will be checking licenses as part of an effort to educate the public about the new license structure,” said Steve Adcock, Chief of Law Enforcement for the MDWFP.     
“Licenses are now valid for one year from the date of purchase and can be purchased at any of more than 600 locations, even over the telephone or internet. There is no reason a person needing a license should not have one.”
The fine for hunting without a license can range from $25 – $100 for residents, plus a fee equal to the cost of the annual license needed, plus the offender still has to purchase a license. Non-residents face a minimum fine of $500 plus fees and loss of hunting privileges for a period of one year from the date of conviction.
Mississippi benefits from the sale of licenses both from the direct infusion of cash, and from federal matching funds. Even the exempt persons can do their part in helping the state secure federal funds.
“Exempt individuals can purchase a one-time $5 license and be counted when federal funds are dispersed,” said Al Tuck, Deputy Director for MDWFP. “Exempt persons pay federal excise taxes just as everyone does, but the only way that money can come back to the state is for them to be a license holder.”

Leave a Comment