Skip to content

New Cheerleaders Named At NWCC

Meredith Burrell of Water Valley has been named to the  2009-2010 Northwest Mississippi Community College cheerleading squad, according to Pam Wooten, Northwest manager of student activities and cheer sponsor.

Tryouts were held on April 17 and 18 at Howard Coliseum on the Northwest campus in Senatobia.

Also in the squad are Kayla Adair, Meagen Hill, Holly Murphy and Lacee Redd, all of Senatobia; Jessica Fellows and Ashley Robison of Batesville; Nikki Dillon and Haley Hood of Sardis; Brittany Ferrell of Coldwater, Maggie Harber of Bentonia, Chelsey Hill of Olive Branch, Latham James of Tunica, Amy Laster of Duck Hill, Angela McOwen of Como and Ashton Williams of Holcomb.

The Northwest cheerleaders are an all female, non-competitive squad. They cheer at all football games and all home basketball games. Cheerleaders who live on campus receive a $1000 scholarship per semester. Those who commute receive $850 in scholarship per semester.

For more information on the cheerleading program at Northwest contact Wooten at 662-562-3899 or e-mail

Leave a Comment