Look Back In Yalobusha History

Miss Hospitality Well Equipped For ‘93 Contest

• 5 years ago, July 31, 2008 – George Harrison of Coffeeville was named chairperson for the Mississippi Board of Mental Health.
Dr. Natalie Norwood Bauer, Instructor of Pharmacology at the University of South Alabama College of Medicine, was awarded the prestigious Parker B. Francis Fellowship.
The Cody Byford Memorial Mural was dedicated at the Yalobusha County Multipurpose Building at Coffeeville. It was painted by local artist Pat Rodrigue and was provided by the Coffeeville Saddle Club.
The musical duo of Steve Thompson and Brian Ward held a CD release concert in honor of their debut album, Porch Funk.
• 10 years ago, July 31, 2003 – Carnival was getting underway and Watermelon Carnival Queen Alana Reed and her court were presented during opening ceremonies Friday evening.
Kellie Magee, Miss Casey Jones, acted as hostess for visitors at the Water Valley Casey Jones Railroad Museum.
Matt Craven and Joseph Adams received Northwest Community College Foundation Scholarships.
Participants in the Blackmur Memorial Library Summer Reading Program included Saronda Rogers, Callie Jordan, Amanda Jordan, Marcus Hervey, Desiree Tidwell, Keisha Hervey, Sarah Dickey, Katie Dickey and Desiree Dickey.
Jeannette Johnson was Yalobusha General Hospital Employee of the Month.
• 20 years ago, July 29, 1993 – The three local banks, Peoples Bank and Trust, Mechanics Bank and Sunburst Bank, provided a video camera to the sheriff’s department as a crime fighting tool.
An Enid man, Tommy Lynn Moore, 28, drowned at Plum Point while swimming with some friends.
Miss Hospitality Andrea Davis was pictured in her “Holley Equipped” costume that she will wear during one segment of the state contest. The outfit was designed and made by Dorothy Dennis.
Barrett Larson, son of Don and Allison Larson, was selected as the 1993 Watermelon Baby.
Gloria Jackson, new  High School secretary, was shown with one of the school’s new air conditioners.
Hershel Howell showed off a two pound, five ounce tomato declared winner in the Early Bird Breakfast Club’s Largest Tomato contest.
Jimmy Eubanks was Holley’s July Employee of the Month.
Members of the First Baptist Church youth handbell choir included Jessica Williamson, Natalie Flippin, Joy Crocker, Jeff Griffin, Allison Willingham, Drew Dickey, Kellie Burns, Andy Parrish, Tammy McMinn. With them was Minister of Music Keith Stevens, Jenny Stevens and Marty Gurner.
• 30 years ago, Aug. 4, 1983 – Prize winners in the Blackmur Memorial Library Summer Reading Program were Perry Hawkins, John and Cheri Carr and Cinda Browning.
Kim Herring, 1983 Drum Major; Denise Romberger, Guard Co-Captain and Assistant Drum Major; and Cindy Fernandez, Rifle Captain won awards at the Mississippi State University Band Camp.
Aimee Hall, Sharla Hall, Cathey Maynor, Jilly Hyde and Whitney Rogers were pictured sampling watermelons grown by Lawrence and Sonny Walker.
• 40 years ago, Aug. 2, 1973 – The Bank of Water Valley building sustained its second auto accident when a car driven by Florence Shaw went out of control as she attempted to make a right turn on Wood Street.
Marty Shaw took second place in the horse judging contest at the state 4-H Horse Show in Jackson.
The Yellow Jackets were the number one team in the Kiddie League. Team members included Tommy Norman, Hoyt Stone, Jimmy Craven, Joey Joyner, Dave Mills, Eddie Harmon, Jeff Mills, Jeff Pass, Dean Cummings, Larry Kimzey and Sandy Stone. Coaches were Larry Pass and Dee Cummings.
Jeanenne Marchbanks was featured in the Who’s Who Among American High School Students 1972-73 edition.
Eastern Division title winners in the Little League were the Giants coached by Keny Goodwin. Members were Tony Herod, Wayne Foster, Mike Dowsing, John Morgan, Joe Allen Wright, Richy Craven, Chuck Harris, Mark Reagon, Michael Carr and Mitchell Schmitz.
• 50 years ago, Aug. 1, 1963 – The Herald featured photos of two rockets blasting off on the front page after publisher Edward B. Shearer joined other Mississippi newspapermen on a tour of Cape Canaveral.
Friends and neighbors were planning to rebuild the home of Mr. and Mrs. Elmer Gordon of Route Two after it was struck by lighting and burned. A committee composed of Marshall Ruther-ford, Moody Moore and Jack Wade were coordinating.
Larry Kilgore and Steve Brower of Coffeeville won first place at the 4-H Club Congress held at Mississippi State University for their demonstration of fertilizing fish ponds.
• 60 years ago, Aug 6, 1953 – The Jaycees announced some special events for the first Tri-Lake Fair in September including a giant fireworks display.
• 70 years ago, July 29, 1942 – Water Valley looked like a convention of Highway Patrolmen the previous Wednesday night, wrote Herald Editor Edward B. Shearer. Officers from two northern districts converged on the area to hunt two escaped convicts from Parchman. They were captured in the county and offered no resistance.
While on the hunt, patrolmen along with Sheriff Frank Hyde captured three deserters from the Army and also found a load of whiskey. A pick-up truck driven by D. C. McKenzie was discovered carrying 13 cases and a Mrs. Vaughn,  who was believed to be the truck’s owner.
Samuel Roscoe Knox, 17, received the honor badge for efficiency at Marine Recruit Depot, San Diego.

Leave a Comment