Skip to content

Look Back In Yalobusha History

Youngsters Collect Mountain Of Litter In 1975 Clean-Up

By David Howell

            • 10 Years Ago, April 28, 2005 – Songwriter Ken Hart and fellow musicians Daniel Carlish, Steve Thompson and Brandon Hughes entertained during the campfire Friday night for the Third Annual Hobo gathering at the Water Valley Casey Jones Railroad Museum. Ken’s song, “Ain’t No Trains,” was inspired by the last train through Water Valley.

            The race for the city’s elected positions was in high gear, with the May 3 election approaching. Incumbent Mayor Larry Hart faced Bill Norris. Lance Clement, Billy Humphreys and Chris Riley were competing for the alderman at large slot. Ward One incumbent Charles Harris faced Bobby Cox. Ward Two incumbent Fred White faced Levert Hawkins. In Ward Three, Thomas S. Swearengen, Jr. faced Rubye Carr. In Ward Four, incumbent Sherry Johnson Martin was on the ballot with Woodrow Daniels, III, and Luther G. Folson, Jr.

            • 20 Years Ago, April 27, 1995 – Yalobusha County Agent Steve Cummings reported four to six-plus inches of rain during the last week stopped all forms of field work as the newly-prepared fields turned into mud fields. He reported the rain also washed out “Super Bulldog Weekend.”

  Columnist Daisy White reported in the Camp Ground News a Blackberry Winter with the cool weather following the heavy rain.

   Five Water Valley High School students attended the Rotary Youth Leadership conference in Olive Branch earlier in the month and were pictured on the front page. The group included Andy Aldy, Delita Hawkins, Lacey Dickey, Sonya Brown and Johnny Caldwell.

  Bro. Hodge and the congregation at Turkey Creek Church joined churches across the land and dedicated worship services as a memorial to the hurting in Oklahoma City following the terrorist bomb.

  • 30 Years Ago, May 2, 1985 – Mrs. Harold G. Williams was installed as the 1985-87 President of the Garden Clubs of Mississippi. Her theme as the new State President was “Reflections of Beauty – Everlasting Footprints.”

  University of Tennessee senior Richie Craven was one of the mainstays on the Pacer squad, finishing the season with a league-leading .511 batting average and .900 fielding average. The 5-10, 175-pounder pounded 71 hits in 139 trips to the plate, hit 10 home runs and drove in 34 runs from the lead-off slot in the line-up. He stole 11 bases and scored 70 runs to help his team record a 34-12 record.

            Lenora Gooch and Shenail Cox were the top salesmen in Girl Scout Troop 00085’s annual cookie sale. Each girl sold more than 100 boxes of cookies.

            Nicole House, the Yalobusha County Spelling Bee Champion, represented the county at the Mid-South Spelling Bee held in Memphis. She placed sixth in the competition, which had 53 entrants. She is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Hubert House.

            Complete brake failure was cited when Thomas Shafer, Jr. was unable to make the turn on Markette Street and struck a parked car and then hit three of the four columns supporting the porch roof of First Baptist Church. The damage to the church was estimated at $20,000. Chief J.D. Watson said the accident was unavoidable with the equipment failure.

            • 40 Year’s Ago, May 1, 1975 – Mrs. William Winter, wife of Lt. Governor William Winter, was in town campaigning for her husband’s race for the state’s governor. She was shown with Dave Hollister, a vice-president of Mott’s Inc.

            Larson’s Big Star had specials in their weekly ad which included sliced bacon for $1.29 per pound, ground beef for 69 cents per pound and cut-up Grade A chickens for 47 cents.

  The Team Crappie Contest winners at the Jaycee Fishing Tournament included: first place, Tommy and Jerry Hill with 63 pounds of crappie; second place, Lottie and Kate Johnsey; and third place, Hal and Joe McKay.

  Winners in the Team Bass Competition in the Jaycee’s Fishing Tournament the previous weekend included Ken Pennington and Billy Rollins with 26 pounds, eight ounces of bass. Second place winners were Mike Moore and Terry Todd. Third place winners were Hershel and Trent Howell.

            Local Junior Auxiliary members planning to attend the JA Convention in Biloxi on May 7-9 included Mim Carpenter, Marvelene McCullar, Mary Ann Lewis, Linda Maynor and Janice Sharp.

            Ben Williams spent a week of hard work as a page during the 1975 session of the Mississippi House of Representatives. He was hosted by Rep. W. Todd McCullough of Pope.

            • 50 Years Ago, April 29, 1965 – Sixteen new pictures for each of the Grammar School grades were purchased with Elementary Activity and Junior Auxiliary funds. Students in Miss Ward’s fifth grade were shown in a picture in the Herald with some of the teacher’s selections. They were Joe York, son of Mr. and Mrs. Dero York; Kathy McMillan, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. Mabry McMillan; Donna Miller, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Earl Miller; and Nell Edwards, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Tom Edwards.

            Larry Kisner, the 18 year-old son of Mr. and Mrs. James Kisner of Water Valley, was killed April 22 in a car-truck collision near Starkville. A companion, Robert McDaniel of Taylor was also killed.  Kisner was a freshman at Northwest Junior College.

            The Water Valley Odd Fellows Lodge and Samaritan Rebekahs will stage a repeat performance of a Hootenanny in the auditorium of the elementary school. Garlon Maynor, chairman of the “Hootennany,” stated that reaction to a performance a few weeks earlier was very good and people requested a repeat performance. 

            • 60 Years Ago, April 29, 1965 – Optometrist Dr. Rayford Edgar was appointed by Gov. Hugh White to serve on the Mississippi Board of Examiners.

            Columnist Myrle Cox reported that school was out for the year. She had plans to have her boys making beds, dish washing, sweeping, mopping and dusting.

            Mr. and Mrs. Monroe Barfield both died Sunday, April 24. He was at Bratton Rest Home and she died at Lakey Nursing Home. A double funeral service was held Monday, April 25.

            Members of the Pine Club, the Jeff Davis School forestry club included Norma Ann Harris, Norma Louise Cardwell, Mary True, Julia Fay Hardy, and Laura Joe Burns. Other members included Bud Goforth, Mike Shaw, Joan House, Kathleen Upchurch and Bonnie Wilbourn.

Leave a Comment