Skip to content

Look Back In Yalobusha History

Petition To Expand City Limits In 1967 Was Dismissed From Court

10 Years—May 17, 2007

Water Valley High School students Christine Tidwell, Amber Boyles, Shelby Singleton, John Rue, Kyle DeHetre, Jeffrey Bell, and Dustin LaCook, completed a three-month project mapping 238 city fire hydrants. They earned State Distinction for their work

  The Water Valley Class of 2007 will graduate May 19 in the Tad Smith Coliseum on the Ole Miss Campus. 

  Vallians Anna Williamson, Callie Trusty, and Autumn Jones will perform in he Oxford Ballet School’s production of “Sleeping Beauty.”

  Anissa Williamson, owner and instructor at “Imagination Station,” a creative art center, was the subject of Alex van Beuren’s “Talk of the Town” Column this week.

20 Years—May 22, 1997

Members of the Future Problem Solving Team, Ashlee Langdon, Ashley Harris, Julie Jones, and Starla Gooch, competed in state competition and were honored at the Water Valley High School Academic Awards Banquet.

  Ann Appleton Laster, daughter of Ludie Appleton and the late Bennie Appleton, is the English Instructor at Hinds Community College’s Raymond Campus. She received the school’s highest employee award, the 3-E Award.

  Blue Devil awards, presented to the outstanding male and female athlete at Water Valley High School, were received by Jacova Jenkins and Melissa Weaver.

  Melissa Weaver is the class of 1997’s valedictorian and Michelle Glick is salutatorian.

  L. C. Stewart was honored at a World War II reunion of the 245th Combat Engineer’s Battalion held in Pensacola, Fla. He serves as president of this group.

  Water Valley Band members named “Outstanding Musicians” in their respective classes were Allison Pullen, 12th grade; Jennifer Norris, 8th grade; Clifton Ross, 9th grade; Deon Hence, 10th grade; and Robin Keisling and Alicia Sprouse, 11th grade.

  Reporter Stacy Hollowell of Water Valley, a member of the staff of Northwest Community College’s school paper, The Ranger Rockett, received a Journalism Award.

30 Years—May 21, 1987

Graduates of the Class of 1987 numbered 88. Honor students are Tisha Covington, Jackee Taliaferro, Cathy Crocker, Rena Woodard, Valeria Phillips, Denise Clement, Lori Fondren, Laura King, Shelia Necaise, Tamera Thomas, Jammy Berry, Angie Brooks, John Earle Gaston, Paul Dennis and Robert Todd.

  Shelby Lane Singleton, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Bob Singleton, was selected 1987 Watermelon Queen. First alternate was Pam Eubanks, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Lee Eubanks; and second alternate is Kim Herring, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Wilbur Herring.

  A plaque was presented to Ludie Appleton, long-time staff member of Water Valley High School, by Lori Fondren, salutatorian of the Class of 1987 on behalf of the class. Ludie was retiring from the school system.

  Valerie Sue Phillips, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Paul Phillips, was valediction of the class.

40 Years—May 19, 1977

Terry Anderson, son of Bro. and Mrs. Ferman Anderson, was valedictorian, and Brenda Berryhill, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Berryhill, was salutatorian of the Class of 1977.

  The Water Valley School  bands were planning to produce an LP record tin 1977 if there is enough interest. The record will feature the high school and junior high bands, along with the fifth and sixth grade bands.

  Alan Berry, son of Mr. and Mrs. Curtis Berry, presented a trumpet solo during the graduation exercises.

  The Municipal Library Board is asking for donations of Water Valley School Annuals to help get together a complete series.

  Among students at Northwest Mississippi Junior  College studying surveying was Steve Hill of Water Valley. Instructor of this course was Jimmy Carr of Batesville.

  Cadet Lamar Burgess will receive his ROTC Commission at graduation. He was commissioned as a second lieutenant in the Army.

50 Years—May 18, 1967

Hon. Oscar P. (Buddy) Mackey of Water Valley was  running for Mississippi Representative Post 2, District 14 for Yalobusha and  Tallahatchie Counties.

  The Water Valley High School  track team came in fourth in the annual state competition. Abe Morris took 1st place in discus and John Pryor placed 3rd in shot putt.

  The petition to extend the city limits was dismissed without prejudice at a hearing in the Water Valley Courthouse on Monday.

  Water Valley graduates receiving awards were Jim Holder, John Abernethy, Tommy Hudson, Joan McMinn, Dana Riley, Jackie Van Winkle, Eva Mitchell, Peggy Simmons, Wayland Hill and Mary Katherine Potts.

  Harriet Samuels, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Earl Fly and the late Harris Samuels, has been tapped for Torch, junior honor society at Mississippi State College for Women.

  Larry Carr was a member of the Northwest Mississippi Junior College Poultry Team that took first place in the annual competition of junior college teams from across the state.

  Yalobusha County students graduating from Northwest Mississippi Community College were Larry Carr, Betty Cox, Don Harding, Ken Maynor, Phyllis Person, Joel Surrette and Larry Woods from Water Valley; Barbara Ford and Ronald Eugene  Smith from Oakland; and Carnes McCormack, Jr., and  Bobby Martin of Coffeeville.

  Careful planing and years of hard work have created a showplace at “Doc” Bell’s Long Branch Angus Farm.

60 Years—May 16, 1957

Stanley Perkins was elected Mayor of Water Valley.

  Bill Abernethy was named  the new Commander of the Joe Willie Adams, Jr., Post No. 4100, Veterans of Foreign Wars in Water Valley.

  Mary Belle Spivey was elected and installed as leader of the Methodist Church denominational group at Mississippi State College for Women. She is the daughter of Mrs. Earl Bell of Water Valley.

  The Jeff Davis PTA will sponsor a talent show. Those wishing to enter the contest are asked to call Mrs. Leon Benson or Mrs. Quay Jones.

  Turkey Creek Baptist Church is in a remodeling program. The work is estimated to cost about $1,500 and anyone wishing to help with this is invited to donate a large or small amount—all will be appreciated.

  Seven Home Demonstra-tion  Clubs met and several members were presented 25-year pins. Mrs. Bob Walker was council president and Mrs. Leon Benson, Mrs. Edgar Howe, and Mrs. L. C. Stewart were on the program.

70–Years—May 15, 1947

Charles Wright was Valedictorian, Catherine Edwards was Salutatorian and secretary, Gene Simpson was president, and Ann Crowson was historian of the Water Valley High School Graduation Class of 1947.

  Farmers of Yalobusha County who wish to participate in the 1947 Plant to Prosper or Live-at-Home Contests have only a few more days in  which to enroll, according to County Agent W. Y. Parker.

  There is an urgent need for assistant aircraft communicators in Alaska. Additional information was available from Loyd L. Brown, Secretary of the Board of Civil Service Examiners located at Water Valley.

  The Camp Ground Home Demonstration  Club met in the Camp Ground  School Home Ec Cottage, with 17 members present. Mrs. L. D. Jones, president of the Club, introduced Mrs. L. V.  White, Mrs. Harry Sartain, and Home Demonstration Agent, Miss Kerr, who were on the program. Mrs. Frances McVey, member of the Water Valley Home Demonstration Club, presented a special segment of the program on flower arranging.

Leave a Comment