Skip to content

Yalobusha Historical Society – Nov. 20, 2014

Veteran Mike Worsham (right) moderated November’s meeting as each veteran attending shared their personal story. Bob Brooks was among the first to speak.

By Joy Tippit

COFFEEVILLE – On Nov. 20, the Yalobusha Historical Society honored the county’s veterans. Forty-nine members and guests listened as each veteran made a statement about their service for our country. We more than welcome you to visit again.
    Mike Worsham called the meeting to order.
    Lawrence Litten voiced a prayer.
    After the Pledge of Allegiance, Pat Brooks introduced Erik Fearing, Minister of Music at First Baptist Church. He sang “The Star Spangled Banner” as members and guests stood.
    Kay F. Rodick won the $100 Walmart gift card, and Lloyd Tippit won the hoop of cheese.
    Debby Hughes gave the monthly financial report.
    Julia Fernandez announced that Shirley Berry would lead in Christmas carols in the YHS meeting December 18.
    Attending:  were Debby Hughes, Carl H. Vick, Mae Vick, Emma Hovey, Dave Hovey, Ruth Perkins, John Perkins, John Perkins, Gary L. Tippit,  Mike Ayers, Ralph Byford, Carrol Conner, Betty Baker Thomas, Patsy Stewart, Frank Fernandez Jr., Opal Wright, Mike Worsham, Alma Brandon, Granville C. Vaughn,  Julia Fernandez, Tom Cox, Kay McCulley, Pat Brooks, Lawrence Litten, Kay F. Rodick, Bob Brooks, Kathryn French, Andy Grass, Charlotte Grass, Jimmie Pinnix, Francine Pinnix,  Betty Miller, Susan Williams, Sarah H. Williams, Thelma Roberts, Cliff Chandler, Sue Chandler, Betty Bryant Stewart, Sonny Stewart, Erik Fearing, David F. Lancaster, John Nelson, Luther W. Coleman, N. Watts, Jennie Kay Turner, George Rounsaville. Wayne Turner, Inez Russell, David Howell and Annis Gholson.

Leave a Comment