Skip to content

Runnin’ For Something: List Of Candidates Grows

By David Howell

WATER VALLEY – The list of political hopefuls continues to swell mid-way through the second week of the two-month qualifying period.
    Five new candidates have qualified for supervisor including Republican candidate Mickell L. Dunn for District 1, Democratic candidates Jason C. Sharp for District 2, Timothy A. Booker, Sr. and Otha Coffey for District 4 and Andrew L. Wilks in District 5. The surge in qualifying in three supervisor districts likely follows the announcement that incumbents Tommy Vaughn, Amos Sims and Frank “Bubba” Tillman will not seek another term.
    Other candidates emerging since last week’s report in the Herald are Ralph Horton I, qualifying as a Democrat for District 1 Constable and incumbent Gail B. Barton, seeking a second term as County Prosecutor. Barton qualified as a Democrat.
    The deadline to qualify is Friday, February 27 at 5 p.m. in the circuit clerk’s offices in Coffeeville or Water Valley.
    The complete list of candidates submitting qualifying papers at press time Tuesday include:
• Chancery Court Clerk – Amy Fernandez McMinn
• Circuit Court Clerk – Daryl Burney
• Constable, District 1 – Bennie (Ben) Box and Ralph Horton I
• Constable, District 2 – Randy Simmons
• Coroner – Ronnie Stark
• County Prosecutor – Gail Barton
• Justice Court Judge, District 1 – Gary Tippit and Janet Caulder
• Justice Court Judge, District 2 – R.S. “Steve” Riley
• Sheriff – Luther Folson Jr., William “Lance” Humphreys and William Tyler Wortham III
• Supervisor District 1 – Mickell L. Dunn
• Supervisor District 2  – Jason C. Sharp and Fred White
• Supervisor District 3 – John Lee McMinn, Jr.
• Supervisor District 4 – Timothy A. Booker, Sr., Otha Coffey and George W. Suggs
• Supervisor District 5 – Gaylon Gray and Andrew L. Wilks
• Tax Assessor/Collector – Linda Rae Shuffield
    Dunn qualified as a Republican, all others qualified as Democrats.

Leave a Comment