Skip to content

County Races Continue To Grow

By David Howell

WATER VALLEY – The county will have the first contested Republican primary for a county office in recent history after Dennis Townes joined the District 1 Supervisor race as a Republican.

            Townes will face Mickell Dunn in the Republican primary on August 4. Four candidates have also qualified on the Democratic ticket in District 1 and will face off in the Democratic primary. These candidates include Scotty “Scrap Man” Aldridge, Michael H. Stevens, Phillip Tallant and Cayce Washington. The winners of the two primaries will compete in the Nov. 3 General Election.

            Just over a week remains until the qualifying deadline, Feb. 27, and additional candidates could join the race.

            Other new qualifiers since last week’s report in the Herald include Leslie W. Doubleday, who qualified as a Democrat for District 4 Supervisor; and Mark B. Hartley, who qualified as a Democratic candidate for District 5 supervisor.

            Doubleday will face Timothy A. Booker, Sr., Otha Coffey and George Suggs in the Democratic primary.

            Hartley will face Gaylon Gray, Spencer Gunn, Jr., and Andrew L. Wilks in the Democratic primary.

            Candidates previously qualifying for supervisor are:

            • District 2 Supervisor – Larry Joe Gray, Richard “Rickey” Wood, Hosea Bradford, Jason C. Sharp, Fred E. White, Luther W. Coleman, Kenneth E. Rogers, Luther G. Folson, Sr. and Mark Gooch (all running as Democrats)

            • District 3 Supervisor – John Lee McMinn, Jr. (Democrat);

            Candidates previously qualifying for other positions include:

            • Chancery Court Clerk – Amy Fernandez McMinn;

            • Circuit Court Clerk – Daryl G. Burney;

            • Constable, District 1 – Bennie (Ben) Box, Ralph Horton I and Larry C. Tritt;

            • Constable, District 2 – Randy Simmons;

            • County Prosecutor – Gail B. Barton and Daniel M. Martin;

            • Justice Court Judge, District 1 – Janet Ross Caulder and Gary Lloyd Tippit, Sr.;

            • Justice Court Judge, District 2 – R.S. “Steve” Riley

            • Sheriff – Luther Gene Folson Jr., William “Lance” Humphreys and William Tyler Wortham III; and

• Tax Assessor/Collector – Linda Rae Shuffield.

            These qualifiers are all running on the Democratic ticket with the exception of Martin, who is running as an independent.

Leave a Comment