Skip to content

Politicking Is Down To The Final Hours

Months of politicking will culminate in Tuesday’s primary elections as the polls open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at 12 precincts across the county. Only four incumbents in the county are unopposed and the local action is heavy on the Democratic ballot with 33 candidates seeking county positions. There are two local candidates running on the Republican ballot and four independent candidates.

The bid for District 4 Supervisor is one of the most interesting races in the county, with three former supervisors seeking another shot at their old job. Freddie E. Winters, George W. Suggs and Danny Barton will all be on the ballot against incumbent Timothy A. Booker, Sr. A fifth candidate, Eddie B. Harris, also qualified to run on the Democratic ticket in Tuesday’s primary. Harris previously served as District 4 Election Commissioner. A sixth candidate, Curtis Hames, is running for the seat as a Republican and will face the winner of the Democratic Primary in the November General Election.

There will also be five candidates on the Democratic ticket for sheriff. Incumbent William F. “Lance” Humphreys, Roger L. Pollan, James Anthony (Tony) Potts, Luther Gene Folson, Jr. and McKendrick Pawfene Bounds are competing for the Democratic nomination. The winner, which will likely be decided in the Democratic Primary run-off on August 27, will face independent candidate Mark. D. Fulco in the general election.

Five candidates are battling to serve as the next District 2 Justice Court Judge after incumbent Steve Riley, the county’s longest serving official currently in office did not seek re-election. Tommy Defer, Calvin Earl Hawkins, David Wallis and Terry Rockette are all running on the Democratic ticket. The winner will face Trent Howell, who is running as an independent, in the general election.

Five-term incumbent Tax Assessor/Collector Linda Rae Shuffield will face Michael Loyd Walton on the Democratic ticket. The winner will face independent candidate Baine Turnage in the general election.

In the coroner’s race, incumbent Ronnie Stark faces Robert Walker on the Democratic ticket on Tuesday. The winner will face independent candidate Lezelrick Hodges in November.

In the race for District 2 Supervisor, incumbent candidate Kenneth E. Rogers faces Fred Earl White on the Democratic ticket, setting up a rematch from four years ago.

Two candidates are jockeying to succeed two-term incumbent Lee McMinn for the District 3 Supervisor slot. Kenny Harmon and Jacob Pryor are running on the Democratic ticket for this position.

Other contested races in the county include:

• Circuit Clerk – incumbent Daryl Burney faces Sandra Johnson on the Democratic ticket;

• District 1 Constable – incumbent Ralph A. Horton faces Brent Anderson on the Democratic ticket;

• District 2 Constable – Incumbent Randy Simmons faces Cameron Cummings on the Democratic ticket;

• District 1 Supervisor – Incumbent Cayce Washington faces Mickell Dunn in the November General Election. Washington is running as a Democrat and Dunn as a Republican. 

Unopposed candidates in the county include Chancery Clerk Amy Fernandez McMinn, District 1 Justice Court Judge Janet Caulder, County Attorney Gail B. Barton and District 5 Supervisor Gaylon Gray.

The deadline to vote absentee is Saturday at noon in the circuit clerks offices in Water Valley and Coffeeville.

Pollworkers who will work on election day include: 

Beat One North

W.G. Griffin – RO

Pamela Timmins

Doris Holmes

Judy Sartain

Vivian McKey

Betty Thomas

Richard Soukup

Beat One South

Lowedia Doolin (RO)

Marjorie Moore

Mary Towers

Kayla Byford

Patricia Rodrigue

Carl Upchurch

Beat Two Water Valley

Collen Craven (RO)

Alice Williams

Rubye Carr

Eva Cook

Cathy Magee

Inez Turner

John Hairston

Beat Three Northwest

Jill Clark (RO)

Shirley Avant

Rebecca York

Reeda Cofer

Cathy Patton

Terry Anthony

Beat Three Sylva Rena

Martha Tatum (RO)

Ore Lee Phillips

Bennia Phillips

Connie Champion

Frank Dunn

Shirley Dunn

Beat Four – Coffeeville

Doyle Varner (RO)

Claude Harris

Kyna Logan

Riva Shelton

Donna McKnight

Tameka Clark

Dorothy Holland

Beat Four – Oakland

George M. Worsham (RO)

Lizzie Earl

Della Kendrick

Carolyn Lear

David Herring

Delice Reese

Stephanie Patterson

Beat Five – Coffeeville

Deborah Bourn (RO)

Sandra Rains

Floydette McClora

Jean Farmer

Elsie Harrison

June Byford

Maeci McCullough

Beat Five – Scobey

Joyce Courtney (RO)

Vickie Clay

Tommy Hill

Pauline Jenkins

Grace Jackson

Sharon Blair

Aaron Blair

Beat Five – Scuna-Vann’s Mill North

Inez Russell (RO)

Sue Fly

Sue Russell

Amanda Moore

Clara Jarod

Linda Sims

Beat Five – Scuna-Vann’s Mill South

Terry Eubanks (RO)

Elizabeth Coleman

Cathy Harrison

Julie Coleman

Carol Harrison

James Calder

Beat Five – Tillatoba

Callie Hoop (RO)

Earnestine Matthews

Susan Howe

John Cook

Wardene Booker

Essie Gary

Jean Durham

(RO – Indicates Return Officer in each precinct. Tis person brings the ballot box from the precinct to the Water Valley courthouse to count the ballots.

Leave a Comment