Skip to content

Runnin’ For Something? Friday Is The Deadline

By David Howell

WATER VALLEY – Another contested race in the county has emerged after Perry Myrick qualified Tuesday to run for District 2 Justice Court Judge against longtime incumbent R.S.

“Steve Riley.” Myrick qualified as a Democrat and will face Riley in the Democratic Primary on August 4. The deadline to qualify is Friday, Feb. 27, at 5 p.m. in the Circuit Clerk offices in Water Valley or Coffeeville.

            Alan D. Rone also qualified since last week’s report in the Herald. Rone qualified late on Tuesday, Feb. 17, to run as a Democrat for District 1 Supervisor. His entry into that race brings the field of candidates to seven. Previously Scotty “Scrap Man” Aldridge, Michael H. Stevens, Phillip Tallant and Cayce Washington qualified to run for District 1 Supervisor as Democrats. Dennis Townes and Mickell L. Dunn qualified to run as Republican candidates in the same race, creating a contested Republican primary, the first for a county position in recent history.

            Luther W. Coleman has switched parties, and will run on the Republican ticket for District 2 Supervisor. Coleman first qualified as a Democrat. The race for District 2 Supervisor has attracted the most candidates with nine. The others are all running on the Democrat ticket and include: Hosea Bradford, Luther G. Folson, Sr., Mark A. Gooch, Larry Joe Gray, Kenneth E. Rogers, Jason C. Sharp, Fred E. White and Richard “Rickey” Wood.

            Other contested races in the county include:

            • District 1 Constable – Bennie “Ben” Box, Ralph Horton I and Larry C. Tritt, all running as Democrats;

            • District 1 Justice Court Judge – Gary Lloyd Tippit, Sr. and Janet Ross Caulder, both running as Democrats;

            • Coroner – Wanda L. Smith and Ronnie W. Stark, both running as Democrats;

            • County Attorney – Gail B. Barton (Democrat) and Daniel M. Martin (independent);

            • Sheriff – Luther Gene Folson, Jr., William “Lance” Humphreys and William Tyler Wortham, III, all running as Democrats;

            • District 4 Supervisor – Timothy A. Booker, Sr., Otha Coffey, Leslie W. Doubleday and George W. Suggs, all running as Democrats; and

            • District 5 Supervisor – Gaylon Gray, Spencer Gunn, Jr., Mary V. Hartley and Andrew L. Wilks, all running as Democrats.

            There are five incumbents who are not facing opposition, all running as Democrats:

            • Chancery Court Clerk – Amy Fernandez McMinn;

            • Circuit Court Clerk – Daryl G. Burney;

            • District 2 Constable – Randy Simmons;

            • District 3 Supervisor – John Lee McMinn Jr.; and

            • Tax Assessor/Collector – Linda Rae Shuffield.

Leave a Comment