Skip to content

All Five Supervisors Retain Beat Seats

By William Browning


WATER VALLEY – All five of the current Yalobusha County supervisors were voted into four more years of service Tuesday night.

    No runoffs will be needed, as the five incumbents each garnered over 50 percent of the votes needed in the August 7 Democratic Primary.

    In the most interesting race, with Beat 3 incumbent Butch Surrette facing three challengers, Surrette tallied 584 votes to avoid a runoff by 11 votes. John Lee McMinn finished with 360 to place second in the race.

    Charles ‘Wobble’ McCullough, with 109 votes, came in third in the Beat 3 race, while Keith Miller pulled 93.

    The Beat 5 race saw incumbent Bubba Tillman pull 570 votes to hold his supervisor seat, while Ray Schmitz came in second with 304.

    In the same race, Terry Jones got 135 votes, while David Duke had 62.

     Looking at the Beat 4 race, incumbent George Suggs held off his two challengers, tallying 591 votes, to Leslie Doubleday’s 174 and Freddie Winters’ 186.

    Beat 1 incumbent Tommy Vaughn easily defeated challenger Mickey Hall, with 769 votes to 227.

    In Beat 3, board president Amos Sims downed his challenger, Steve Ross, 534 to 226.

    All results are unofficial as of press time.

    More Election Results

    In the Coroner’s race, Deputy Coroner Ronnie W. Stark easily defeated challenger Bruce Short  with 3,874 votes. Short mustered 807 votes. Short did not carry a single precinct.

    Tax Assessor/Collector Linda Shuffiled received 3,686 votes to Peggy C. Brown’s 1,203 votes.

    In the Justice Court race for District One Incumbent Gary L. Tippit mustered 1,939 votes to William A. “Billy” Morgan’s 626 votes.

    In the District Two Justice Court race, incumbent Steve Riley gathered 1,418 votes to Ben Horan’s 858 votes.

    In the District Two Constable’s race, incumbent Randy Simmons easily defeated Susan Taylor. Simmons received 1,977 votes to Taylor’s 290 votes.

    District One Constable Charlie Calder, Chancery Clerk Amy McMinn and County Attorney Katherine Ward were all unopposed.

Leave a Comment