Skip to content

State Candidates Face Off Tuesday In General Election



    Yalobusha voters will not have to make as many choices as there will be names on the ballot next Tuesday.
    All primary nominees are listed on the November 6 General Election ballot, even those who have no opposition, Yalobusha County Circuit Clerk said. That’s the law and it includes all beat, district and county nominees – from supervisors, to justice court judges and constables, to chancery and circuit clerks, sheriff and tax assessor/collector.
    Likewise unopposed but listed will be Senate District Nine nominee Gray Tollison, Representative District 33 nominee Tommy Reynolds, and Judicial District 17 Attorney nominee John Champion.
    Northern District Transportation Commissioner William R. Bill Minor is also unopposed in the general election.
    But Yalobusha general election voters will help decide who gets to be Mississippi’s next Public Service Commissioner in Mississippi’s Northern District where Republican nominee Mabel Murphree faces Democrat Brandon Presley.
    County voters will also face choices in eight statewide races, the race for Mississippi’s governor most prominent among them.
    Republican Haley Barbour, the incumbent, faces Democrat John Arthur Eaves, Jr. in that contest.
    For Lieutenant Governor, Republican Phil Bryant and Democrat James R. “Jamie” Franks, Jr. are the nominees.
    In the contest to become Mississippi’s Secretary of State, Republican Delbert Hosemann faces Democrat Robert H. “Rob” Smith.
    Democrat Jim Hood, the incumbent, faces a challenge by Republican Al Hopkins for the position of State Attorney General.
    For State Auditor, Republican Stacey E. Pickering faces Democrat Mike Sumrall.
    Democrat Shawn O’Hara seeks to become State Treasurer as does Republican Tate Reeves.
    An unusual three-way race has found its way onto the ballot to become Mississippi’s Commissioner of Agriculture. Rickey L. Cole is the Democrat’s nominee; incumbent Lester Spell is the Republicans’, and Paul Leslie Riley is the nominee of the Constitution Party.
    For Commissioner of Insurance, Gary Anderson is the Democrats’ nominee; Mike  Chaney is the Republican’s.
    Burney said the county’s Election Commissioners will publicly test the voting machines Thursday night at the Water Valley Courthouse between 6:30 and 7 p.m.
    “Absentee voting has been very light,” Burney reported. The courthouses will open until noon Saturday for absentee voting.
    “We are expecting voter turnout to be in the 40-plus percentage,” Burney said.

Leave a Comment