Skip to content

School Officials Hire Staff For Upcoming 2008-2009 School Year

(  Webmaster’s note: We have placed this in Top Stories because of its importance. However, please see our School News section for more stories and photos from our school system.)

The bulk of the staff for the upcoming school year was hired during the March 17 Water Valley School Board meeting. The new year’s school calendar was also approved.

    The 2008-2009 school year will begin August 7, which will put students in the classroom after the Watermelon Carnival. Teachers will start work on August 1, after an extra day of professional development was added to the school calendar. Professional development days will continue the following Monday through Wednesday.

    Open house for both schools will be August 5.

    The school year will conclude on May 22 with the graduation tenatively set on May 21. Summer school begins June 1 and ends Junes 26.    

    Staff members hired include: Katherine Smith, Substitute Teacher; Monica Jones, Substitute Food Service Department; Rosalind Johnson, Substitute Food Service Department Gregory Gary, Substitute Food Service Department Sabrina Johnson, Substitute Food Service Department

    District officials hired March 17 include: Ann Surrette, Payroll Clerk; Yolanda Hall, Receptionist/Title I Secretary;  Jackie Lowery, MSIS Clerk; Glenda Singleton, Administrative Assistant; Trea Higdon, Educational Center; Nancy Wootten, Educational Center; Bryant Mix, Educational Center; Clifton Moore, Janitorial Supervisor; Carl Few, Maintenance Supervisor; Lewis Camp, Bus Shop Supervisor; and Ervis Camp, Jr., Bus Shop Mechanic;


Kindergarten Teachers

    Shelia Benoist, Carmille Hovious, Ashley Kehoe, Charla Stark, and Dawn Williamson;

First Grade Teachers

    Donna Barnes, Lori Gore, Christy Lowery, Brendi Sparks, Pam Taylor, and Rebecca York

Second Grade Teachers

    Donna Blake, Melissa Burrell, Tracy Kisner, Jennifer McMinn, and Christie Noel;

Third Grade Teachers

    Colleen Craven, Math; Renita Fox, Language Arts; Jill Hill, Language Arts; Lee McMahen, Math; Vickie Person, Language Arts; and Alana Reed, Math;

Fourth Grade Teachers

    Valerie Burgess, Language Arts; Rebecca DeLoach, Math; Lisa Edwards, Math; Kristen McCaslin, Math; Katie Naron, Language Arts; and Pat Ray, Language Arts

Fifth Grade Teachers

    Vietta Booker, Math; Maggie McDaniel, Math; Sharman Norwood, Language Arts; Brandy Russell, Language Arts; Renee Thompson, Math; and Whitney Yount, Language Arts;

Sixth Grade Teachers

    Will Anderson, Language Arts; Amy Daniels, Math; Angela Landry, Math; Ashley Rich, Language Arts; Trenisha Tallie, Math; and Rose Willingham, Language Arts;

     Special Education Teachers

    Alison Black; Madistean Cooper; Lisa Dettor; Robin Fielder; Cissy Griffin; Cheryl Harris; JoBeth Alford, Enrichment; Lecia Bain, Enrichment; Stephanie Beebe, Speech Pathologist; Shane Brown, Physical Education/Coach; Heather Card, Speech Pathologist; Grace Dickerson, T. S. T. Coordinator; Hugh Gurner, Librarian; Suzanne Reed, Lead Teacher; Hope Shaw, School Nurse; Linda Williamson, Counselor; Mary Freeman, Elementary School Music Teacher; Leasie Gilley, Elementary School Secretary; and Gloria Jackson, Special Education Secretary;

Teaching Assistants

    Audra Ashford, Kim Baker, Heather Brown, Ophelia Buford, Heather Bynum, Suzanne Cofer, Darlene Fleming, Jackie Harmon, Gay Hentz, Crystal Magee, Lisa Murrell, Anita Phillips, Sherry Phillips, Patricia Reed, Cathy Sartain, and Mercy Turner

Title I Aides

    Nicole Eubanks; Pamela Harris; Bennie Faye Phillips;  and Rochelle Southern

Special Education Facilitators

Theresa Chandler Irene Judson



    Debra Anderson, Computer Discovery; Doug Anderson, Art; Byron Beard, Building Trades; Kendra Bensch, Science; Jeani Black, Mathematics; Mary Bonner, Technology Discovery; Judy Brewer, Science; Shayla Burgess, Language Arts; Jeff Byrd, Social Studies; Jennifer Carwile, Special Needs; Sammie Cobern, Librarian/Media Specialist; James Coleman, Social Studies; Gary Drewrey, Physical Education/Health; Clint Faust, Mathematics; Steve Ford, Science; Linda Glidewell, Special Needs; Amanda Goodwin, Mathematics; Brenda Gulledge, Technology Applications (EAST); Karen Hamilton, Mathematics /Band; Thomas Harris, Language Arts; Elizabeth Hawkins, Special Needs; Brad Hayden, Language Arts; D. A. Hervey, Support Staff Technician; Diana Hinton, Language Arts; Angie Hodge, Mathematics; Pam Ivey, Career Discovery; Edith Kennemore, Special Education; Jo Ann King, Business and Technology; Anna Koshenina, Language Arts; Shane Linzy, Social Studies; Dana McConnell, Counselor; Suzanne McCullough, Physical Education/Health; John Mistilis, Social Studies; Valerie Morgan, Family and Consumer Science; Doug Robbins, Social Studies; Shelly Rotenberry, Language Arts; John Sherman, Drivers Education; Anna Smith, Science; Mary Smith, Language Arts; Victor Steen, Band/Music; Billy Thacker, Agriscience; Kathy True, Language Arts; Terri Turner, Special Needs; Tracey Varner, Mathematics; and  Diane Webb, Co-op




    Reeda Cofer, Secretary Tech Prep; Deniece Fowler, High School Secretary; Angie Hoskins, Special Education Facilitator; Cathy Patton, Special Education Facilitator; Annette Reynolds, Special Education Facilitator; and Susan Shaw, Bookkeeper


    Will Anderson, Softball Coach; Shane Brown, Softball Coach; Melissa Burrell, Cheer Coach; Colleen Craven, Cheer Coach; Gary Drewrey, Athletic Director; Clint Faust, Assistant Football Coach; Trea Higdon, Assistant Football Coach; Shayne Linzy, Head Girls Basketball Coach, Head Volleyball Coach, and assistant Track Coach; Suzanne McCullough, Junior High Girls Basketball Coach and Assistant Volleyball Coach; Bryant Mix, assistant Football Coach and assistant Track Coach; Doug Robbins, Head Baseball Coach, assistant Junior High Football Coach and Junior High Baseball Coach; John Sherman, Head Boys Basketball Coach; and Jason Langdon, Para-Professional/Coach;


    Holly Carson, Jarrod Dickey, Jennifer Foshee, Ashley Gainer, Rick Glidewell, Debra Harris, Jerry Helms, Kalinda Jenkins, Jonathan Jernigan, Thomas Mays, Shirley Oatis, Judith Owens, Delice Reese, Louis Reddick, Sidney Saunders, Gail Thompson, Julie Tyler, Bridget Upchurch, Vicky Vance, and David Webb;



    Hazel Alexander; Karon Alexander; Stephanie Alford; Lillie Buck; Annie Ellis; Mary Harden; Dorothy Jenkins Dewayne Neal; Hattie Polk; Mae Ruth Rucker; Loretta Smith; Wesley Walker; and Lavern Willingham


    Linda Bailey, Terrell Daniels, Tyrone Phillips,

Part Time

    Enos Conard, Teresa Crawford, and  Richard Morgan


    Michael Shane Brown, Terry Burns, Larry Carr, Murray Dixon, Gary Drewrey, John Dunn, Leroy Harris, Rolen Hoskins, Stephen, Craig King, Hugh Lawson, Suzanne McCullough, John Mistilis, William Simmons, Jane Snider, Kimberly Spence, Connie Strickland and Lorraine Turner



    David Camp, Ervis Camp, Chester Drewrey, Trea Higdon, Shayne Linzy, Hosea Rockette, and Mario Weekley.


Leave a Comment