Skip to content

14 Candidates Qualify For Offices In Water Valley

By Jack Gurner

YALOBUSHA – There will be at least three new faces on the Water Valley Board of Aldermen after the upcoming municipal elections.

    The Primary Election will be held May 5 and the General Election on June 2.

New aldermen will fill positions in both Ward Three and Ward Four and also as Aldermen at Large.

In Ward Three, Rubye L. Carr, Kagan Coughlin, Phillip S. Tallant, and Jeffery Lyn Welch will be competing for the Alderman’s seat left vacant by the death of Tommy Swearengen.

In Ward Four, Terry L. Allen, Jr. and Larry Bell are running for the position held by Sherry Martin who is not seeking re-election. Martin served four full terms after being elected late in 1992 to fill a vacancy left when Bill Norris resigned.

Donald Gray and Don Simoneaux are seeking the Alderman at Large post. Lance Clement, who served one term, is not seeking re-election.

Ward One incumbent Charles L. Harris, who has served six terms, faces Bobby Joe Cox, who served two terms as Ward Four Alderman in the 1980’s.

Ward Two Alderman Fred E. White is unopposed.

In the Mayor’s race, incumbent William Glyn “Bill” Norris faces political newcomer Tomie Robert “Robbie” Ashford II and former Mayor Larry G. Hart.

In Coffeeville, incumbent Mayor Mack Burns, Jr. faces Lewis Rufus Gray, Jr., Justin Mark Irwin, and Kerrie Staten.

In Ward One, Willie Harris, III and Eva Lee Longstreet are seeking the Alderman’s post. Johnnie Roland is not running for re-election.

In Ward Two, George E. “Chick” Miller, Jr. is challenging incumbent William Shelton, Jr.

Ware Three Alderman Joe R. Bourn and Ward Four Alderman Michael Ayers are unopposed.

Incumbent Alderman at Large Mack Dudley faces Bryan McCullough and Marcia Stark.

In Oakland, Incumbent James Riley Swearengen faces Carolyn Jones. Seeking Aldermen positions are George Booker, Jr., Terry Larry Ellis, Kenneth “Bud” Leland, Joe Willie Jenkins, Sr., Regina Johnson, Sharonda Jones, Henry Lumas, Ben F. Patterson and Lottie Patterson.

Leave a Comment