Skip to content

School Board Seats Are Uncontested

    Yalobusha voters will not have to go to the polls to vote this November as there are no contested races on the ballot.

    There are two school board elections, one in the Water Valley School District and one in the Coffeeville School District, but only one candidate qualified in each of the slots.

    Pierce Epps is the sole qualifier for Position Three in the Water Valley School District. He will replace Ray Hawkins, who did not seek relection. Hawkins has served as board president.

    Gerald Booker was the sole qualifier for for Position Three in the Coffeeville School District. The new terms will start January 1.

    “Under state law, we do not have to have an election when only one candidate qualifies to run in a school board race,” Circuit Clerk Daryl Burney reported, referring to the Mississippi Code of 1972, Section 37-7-225.

    The code spells out that if there is  only one person to qualify for the office of trustee, then no election or notice of election shall be necessary and such person shall, if otherwise qualified, be declared elected without opposition.

Leave a Comment