Skip to content

Local Main Street Program Receives National Accreditation

Special To The Herald

JACKSON – The Water Valley Main Street Association has been accredited by the National Trust Main Street Center as a 2010 National Main Street Program.

“The highly prized recognition reflects the commitment made by both state and community leaders to create economic development while revitalizing the downtown core of their towns and cities,” said Bob Wilson, Mississippi Main Street Association Executive Director.

MMSA in partnership with the National Trust Main Street Center has verified that Water Valley met performance standards that ensure a comprehensive, historic preservation-based approach to commercial district revitalization.

Each year, the Center offers accreditation to the local Main Street programs that meet the 10 national standards of performance.

“We couldn’t be more proud,” said Bill Taylor, President of the WVMSA.  For a Main Street Association the size of ours to receive this national recognition is a testament to the incredible support we receive from the City of Water Valley, our local businesses, and dozens of volunteers.

“It’s the people of Water Valley who make the Main Street Association a success,” he added.

Cumulatively, the commercial districts taking part in the Main Street program nationally have generated more than $48.9 billion in new investment, with a net gain of more than 417,919 new jobs and 94,176 new businesses.

Every dollar a community uses to support its local Main Street program leverages an average of $25 in new investment, making the Main Street program one of the most successful economic development strategies in America.

Other cities in Mississippi that have received the accreditation are Aberdeen, Amory, Baldwyn, Batesville, Bay St. Louis, Biloxi, Canton, Carthage, Cleveland, Clinton, Columbia, Columbus, Corinth, Greenville, Green-wood, Gulfport, Hattiesburg, Hernando, Indianola, Jackson (Belhaven), Kosciusko, Laurel, Lexington, Louisville, New Albany, Ocean Springs, Okolona, Pascagoula, Philadelphia, Picayune, Pontotoc, Port Gibson, Ripley, Senatobia, Tunica, Tupelo, Vicksburg, West Point and Woodville.

Leave a Comment