Skip to content

Voters Head To The Polls On Tuesday

Campaign signs litter the side of Hwy. 32 a few miles west of Water Valley.

By David Howell

WATER VALLEY – With the November General Election less than a week away, there is a flurry of activity as candidates push for a last minute edge.

One of the most hotly contested race pits one-term Democratic Congressman Travis Childers against Republican challenger Alan Nunnelee.

Childers and Nunnelee are locked in a dead-heat battle for the 1st District seat, which covers Yalobusha and 23 other counties in North Mississippi.

Both campaigns have said internal polls show their candidate enjoys a slight lead while external polls show the race is a toss-up. And both men have visited Yalobusha County several times during the campaign, including last Tuesday when Childers stopped at the Yalobusha Gin outside Coffeeville as part of his “Putting North Mississippi First” working tour.

Nunnelee stopped in Water Valley the same day, visiting with constituents in his “Take Back America” bus tour.

Seven other independent and third-party candidates will also appear on the General Election ballot for the 1st District seat. Independent candidates include A.G. Baddley, Les Green, Rick ‘Rico’ Hoskins and Wally Pang. Gail Giaramita is running for the seat as a member of the Constitution Party, Harold Taylor is running as an Libertarian and Barbara Dale Washer is running on the Reform Party ticket.

Also on the November ballot will be a pair of circuit court judge positions that are non-partisan.

Assistant District Attorneys Rhonda Amis and Smith Murphy, both of Batesville, Batesville attorney Adam Pittman, and Charleston Attorney William Sanders are in the running to fill the seat vacated by a retiring Andrew Baker.

Former District Attorney Gerald W. Chatham Sr. will face Tunica attorney Stan Little and Water Valley attorney David Burns for the right to be the first judge to represent the newly created Place 4 position in the 17th Judicial District.

The final contested race on next Tuesday’s ballot is a Court of Appeal Judge, District 1, Position Number Two. In this non-partisan race, Donna Barnes faces Kelly Mims.

The polls open Tuesday, Nov. 2, from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

Pollworkers Selected

  Poll Workers selected to officiate the General Election on November 2, 2010 are:

  Beat 1 North—Water Valley: Melvin Ford, Returning Officer; Ernie Aune, Doris Hunt, Betty Thomas;

  Beat 1 South—Water Valley: Sara Beth Morton, Returning Officer; Andy Grass, Pat Rodrique, Mary Towers;

  Beat 2 WV—Water Valley: Ann Babb, Returning Officer; Mary Lou Jones, Mim Carpenter, Ruby Carr;

  Beat 3 NW—Water Valley: Lilly Lois Horan, Returning Officer; Irene Alexander, Kathy Pullen, Nakia Shelton;

  Beat 3 SR—Sylva Rena: Martha Tatum, Returning Officer; Rose Bennett, Mary Chandler, Rochelle Polk;

  Beat 4 CF—Coffeeville: Pamela D. Harris, Returning Officer; Doyle Varner, Clara Smith, Ora Dawkins;

  Beat 4 OK—Oakland: Mike Worsham, Returning Officer; Lizzie Earl, Kelly Paris, William Brown;

  Beat 5 CF—Coffeeville: Elsie Harrison, Returning Officer; Sylvia Parker, Jean Dean, Rosie Jean Tinnon;

  Beat 5 SVM—Scuna Valley: William McCullar, Returning Officer; Bobby Moore Shirley, Georgia Inez Russell;

  Beat 5 TL—Tillatoba: Kim Baker, Returning Officer; Bobby Hartley, Frances Adkins, Dorthy Tanner;

  Beat 5 SB—Scobey: Joyce Courtney, Returning Officer; Lena May Townes, Radford Winters.

Leave a Comment