Skip to content

Polls Will Be Open Tuesday

    Although the snow and ice is expected to linger through Tuesday, a special election for Northern District Transportation Commissioner will be held  as scheduled.

    “After consulting with the Secretary of State and the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency, the Jan. 11, 2011, special election will go forward for the Northern District Transportation Commissioner,”reported Governor Haley Barbour in a press released Monday.

    Yalobusha County Circuit Clerk Daryl Burney reported Monday that preparations were underway to get the voting equipment ready at the county’s precincts.

    The election was set after Commissioner Bill Minor passed away on Nov. 2. Seven candidates will be on the ballot including Warner McBride, Panola County; John Caldwell, DeSoto County; Dennis Grisham, Tippah County; Joey P. Hood, Itawamba County; Larry Lee, Grenada County; Ray Minor, Marshall County, and Mike Tagert, Oktibbeha County.

    The polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m.

Leave a Comment