Skip to content

Municipal Election Results

OAKLAND – The ballots have been counted in Tuesday’s Municipal Elections and only one new face will be seen on Oakland’s Board of Aldermen.
Marzet Bland – who received 135 votes, the most cast for any candidate – will replace Regina Johnson, who wasn’t on the ballot.
Oakland’s four incumbent aldermen who ran were reelected. George Booker Jr. received 90 votes; Terry Ellis, 128 votes; Joe W. Jenkins Sr., 109 votes; and Sharonda Katrina Jones, 119 votes. Aldermen run as independents in Oakland and the top five vote getters win the race.
Incumbent Mayor James Riley Swearengen is also keeping his job by defeating Town Clerk Lula Alford, 104 to 61.
According to Oakland Deputy Clerk Kellie Paris, there were 171 votes cast out of 397 registered voters.
Coffeeville had only one contested race, the Alderman-At-Large post, pitting incumbent Bryan K. McCullough against Mack Dudley in a repeat of the 2009 election. McCullough defeated Dudley, 114 to 58.
In Water Valley, all of the seats were decided in the May Primary election as all of the candidates ran on the Democrat ticket. Ray Hawkins defeated incumbent Ward 2 Alderman Fred White for the only challenged position on the ballot.
The new terms start July 1.

Leave a Comment