Skip to content

Voters Return To Polls Tuesday

By David Howell


WATER VALLEY – The polls will be open across the state from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday, June 26, for a runoff election in the Democratic Primary for one of Mississippi’s two U.S. Senate seats. Candidates David Baria and Howard Sherman will face off in the runoff and the winner will claim a spot on the General Election ballot in November to run against Republican Senator Roger Wicker for the seat. 

Sherman narrowly led the ticket over Baria in the Democratic Primary on June 5, but with six candidates on the ballot he did not receive a majority of the votes cast, forcing a runoff. 

Sherman is a venture capitalist and is married to actress Sela Ward. The couple raised their children in Los Angeles, where he grew up, and they now live in Sela’s hometown of Meridian. Baria is an attorney in Bay St. Louis and served one term in the state senate before being elected in 2011 to the state’s House of Representatives, where he is now the Democratic leader.  

The winner of Tuesday’s primary will have a tough campaign against Wicker, who has held the Senate seat since 2007. It’s been almost three decades since Mississippi last had a Democrat in a Senate seat, an era that dates back to John C. Stennis, who served from 1947-1989. 

Circuit Clerk Daryl Burney reported that only 12 percent of the county’s 8,769 registered voters turned out for the June 5 primary, and turnout could be even lower in Tuesday’s primary runoff. 

Voters who did not vote in the primary may vote in the runoff. However, voters who voted in the Republican primary on June 5 cannot vote in the Democratic runoff.

Absentee voting is underway and circuit clerk offices in the Water Valley and Coffeeville courthouses will be open until noon for voters to cast an early ballot. Burney reminds voters to vote in the precinct where they vote in county elections.  

Poll workers selected for the election include:

Beat One North – W.G. Griffin (Return Officer), Judy Sartain, Pat Ray, Doris Holmes and Lowdia Doolin;

Beat One South – Rita Griffin (Return Officer), Marjorie Moore, Teresa Persick and Mary Towers;

Beat Two Water Valley – Sandy Morris (Return Officer), Mary Lou Jones, Alice Williams and Rubye Carr;

Beat Three Northwest – Jill Clark (Return Officer), Kathy Pullen, Shirley Avant and Rebecca York;

Beat Three Sylva Rena – Martha Tatum (Return Oficer), Ora Lee Phillips, Benia Phillips and Rose Bennett;

Beat Four Coffeeville – Doyle Varner (Return Officer), Claude Harris, Kyna Logan and Hannah Ferguson;

Beat Four Oakland – George M. Worsham ( Return Officer), Lizzie Earl, Freddie Winters and Deborah McLeod;

Beat Five Coffeeville – Deborah Bourn (Return Officer), Joe Bourn, Floydete McClora and Elsie Harrison;

Beat Five Scobey – Vickie Hollis (Return Officer), Charles Hill, Pauline Jenkins and Kimberly Melton;

Beat Five Scuna-Vann’s Mill – Cathy Harrison – (Return Officer), Rebecca Marion, Georgia Russell and Elizabeth Coleman;

Beat Five Tillatoba – Sherry Cook (Return Officer) John Cook, Essie Gary and Callie Hoop.

Leave a Comment